Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

No Graves as Yet (World War I Series, Novel 1)

No Graves as Yet (World War I Series, Novel 1)

In the last idyllic summer of 1914, the battle lines are already drawn…

In No Graves as Yet, the first novel of her World War I quintet, Anne Perry weaves an evocative tale of one family unravelling the secrets that surround them, while the country is on the brink of war. Perfect for fans of Pat Barker and Sebastian Barry.


‘An auspicious read thus it is wonderful that this is the first of a five-novel sequence… this dazzling story is one of sheer brilliance… It’s just so, so beautiful’ – North Wales Chronicle

In Cambridge, the golden June days seem timeless. But for Joseph Reavley the summer is shattered by his parents’ deaths in a car accident. Bringing the terrible news, his brother reveals that their father, a retired MP, had been travelling to see him about a sinister plot he had discovered. Matthew’s job in the secret service means that he would understand the mysterious document their father possessed, but now it is nowhere to be found. Returning after the funeral with their two sisters, Joseph and Matthew become convinced that their parents’ house has been searched. As their suspicions grow, they visit the scene of the crash and find subtle evidence that their deaths may not have been accidental after all.

What readers are saying about No Graves as Yet:

‘One of the most profound and rich evocations of… England, 1914′

One of the best books I have read – wonderful

[This book] will stay with me forever
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 26th September 2013

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472211811

Reviews

Suspenseful, often heartbreaking and riveting... This is Perry's probing, brooding landscape of the soul, which she masters and makes her own
Providence Journal
An ambitious novel in many ways, No Graves as Yet combines the sub-genres of historical fiction, international thriller and whodunit to make an entertaining piece of good old fashioned story telling
West Australian
[A] beautifully constructed book, the start of a new series of five novels about England's favorite obsession, World War I
Chicago Tribune
Perry's melancholy evocation of the 'eternal afternoon' that would soon turn to night all over England is lovely
New York Times Book Review
Perry fans will not be disappointed
Huddersfield Daily Examiner
Very enjoyable and gripping
Glasgow Evening Times
A beautifully written work of psychological depth and poetic resonance... it is compelling from start to finish
The Lady
Praise for Anne Perry: An auspicious read thus it is wonderful that this is the first of a five-novel sequence... this dazzling story is one of sheer brilliance... It's just so, so beautiful
North Wales Chronicle
An engaging evocation of English society poised on the brink of war and denying the implications of events unfolding in the Balkans
Sydney Morning Herald