Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Whited Sepulchres (William Monk Mystery, Book 9)

Whited Sepulchres (William Monk Mystery, Book 9)

A broken promise opens the door to one of Monk’s most baffling cases…

Whited Sepulchres is the ninth novel in Anne Perry’s Monk series, in which the enigmatic detective becomes embroiled in further mystery and intrigue in the foggy streets of Victorian London. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry.


‘No one weaves plot and subplots as seamlessly as Perry… Fans will be delighted by the long-awaited romantic denouement, which brought tears to my eyes’ – Los Angeles Times

Young Killian Melville is arguably the most brilliant architect of the age; passionate about his art, he is liked by everyone. So when he visits Sir Oliver Rathbone, in need of a lawyer to represent him over his alleged ‘breach of promise’ to marry the daughter of his patron, Rathbone agrees despite his misgivings.

The case is not an easy one. Zillah is beautiful and even-tempered, heiress to a fortune and a good friend. What more could any man want? And why would Melville risk losing the professional reputation he has worked all his life to build?

Frustrated by his client’s refusal to divulge any further information, and convinced he is keeping something from him, Rathbone, his own professional integrity at stake, decides to ask his close friend Hester Latterly for an objective opinion about the case. She, meanwhile, has contacted William Monk to investigate a mysterious family matter from twenty years ago. Little do they realise that the three of them are about to tackle the most baffling and complex case with which they have ever been faced…

What readers are saying about Whited Sepulchres:

‘There were two instances in this book where I nearly dropped it from excitement, disbelief and admiration for an author who continues to keep her readers guessing

‘An enthralling story by Anne Perry with lots of twists and turns and an unexpected ending

A Breach of Promise is Perry’s best work ever. This book was such a satisfying read, from start to finish’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 25th November 2010

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9780755383238

Reviews

Praise for Anne Perry: No one weaves plot and subplots as seamlessly as Perry... Fans will be delighted by the long-awaited romantic denouement, which brought tears to my eyes
Los Angeles Times
Captivating... One of Anne Perry's most engrossing puzzlers... A period piece in the best sense, the action seamlessly growing out of the social tapestry she weaves
People Magazine
The story is full of feeling and weighted with intelligent thought about the status of women in mid-Victorian society
New York Times Book Review
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Anne Perry, hailed as the queen of the Victorian mystery, shows why with [Whited Sepulchres]
San Diego Union-Tribune
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal