We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Hardcover / ISBN-13: 9781035401079

Price: £22

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘A heart-warming tale about resilience, friendships and family, and the inestimable power of the written word’ RUTH HOGAN

‘A heart-warming depiction of strong female friendships tested by suffering – Annie Lyons really is the queen of the wartime saga’ CLARE CHAMBERS

Can two young women and one book change the course of war?



1940. Whip-smart librarian Peggy Sparks is determined to make sure that her brother Joe returns from the frontline to their London home, which they share with their beloved mother and grandmother. So when she is offered a once-in-a-lifetime job at the heart of the war effort, Peggy jumps at the prospect of making a real contribution to her country.

But when she finds herself working under the fanciful socialite Lady Marigold Cecily, Peggy discovers that those around her are more keen on dancing at the Café de Paris than on ending the war. Writing accounts of her daily life is the only thing keeping Peggy’s hopes alive. But when she finds her inner-most thoughts accidentally published by the Ministry of Information, Peggy realises she needs Marigold’s help to save her job, and to bring her brother home . . .

From the author of The Air Raid Book Club comes a powerful tale of unexpected friendship, community and two remarkable women who change the course of the war. Full of heart, emotion and drama, it is the perfect uplifting story for fans of Kate Thompson and Natasha Lester.

‘A joyous read that I couldn’t put down. I loved it’
LIZ FENWICK

‘A heartwarming novel about resilience and the power of female friendship’ GOOD HOUSEKEEPING

‘Annie Lyons writes with compassion and heart, leaving the reader feeling like there is always hope, even in the darkest times’ KATE STOREY

‘This book is a delight! A warm hug of a story with gorgeous characters who felt like friends… Loved it! KERRY BARRETT

WHAT EARLY READERS ARE ALREADY SAYING ABOUT A GIRLS’ GUIDE TO WINNING THE WAR:

‘I loved every page of it… I found myself just wanting to get back to read it. I Iove, love, loved it’ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Real reader review


‘Annie Lyons writes amazing historical fiction… So many emotions, fabulous writing and a thoroughly enjoyable read!’ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Real reader review

‘My favourite thing about her books is the way a tight community is formed throughout the story, and they always include strong female characters both young and old. Did I mention there are libraries?’ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Real reader review