We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Hardcover / ISBN-13: 9781035401079

Price: £20

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

Can two young women, and one book, change the course of war . . .?

1940. Whip-smart librarian Peggy Sparks is determined to make sure that her brother Joe returns from the frontline to their London home, which they share with their beloved mother and grandmother. So when she is offered a once-in-a-lifetime job at the heart of the war effort, Peggy jumps at the prospect of making a real contribution to her country.

But when she finds herself working under the fanciful socialite Lady Marigold Cecily, Peggy discovers that those around her are more keen on dancing at the Café de Paris than on ending the war. Writing accounts of her daily life is the only thing keeping Peggy’s hopes alive. But when she finds her inner-most thoughts accidentally published by the Ministry of Information, Peggy realises she needs Marigold’s help to save her job, and to bring her brother home . . .

From the author of The Air Raid Book Club comes a powerful tale of unexpected friendship, community and two remarkable women who change the course of the war. Full of heart, emotion and drama, it is the perfect uplifting story for fans of Kate Thompson and Natasha Lester.

READERS ADORE ANNIE LYONS’ BOOKS:

‘So touching and heartwarming. What a beautiful novel this is. And as for that ending . . . get those tissues ready – Jill Mansell

A sweet and nourishing ode to books that historical fiction fans will love’ – Kate Thompson

A warm and tender tale about the power and healing of friendship and community and the magic of books’ – Ruth Hogan

‘She writes with compassion and heart, leaving the reader feeling like there is always hope, even in the darkest times’ – Kate Storey

A wonderful story of strong female friendship and found family . . . I absolutely adored it’ – ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Real reader review

Beautiful and moving in a way that we need right now’ – ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Real reader review

A beautiful depiction of a community striving to survive together’ – ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Real reader review

What's Inside

Read More Read Less