Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

After the Mourning (Francis Hancock Mystery 2)

After the Mourning (Francis Hancock Mystery 2)

After the Mourning is the second novel in the acclaimed Francis Hancock World War Two crime series by Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Martin Walker and Maureen Jennings.

‘The denouement is exciting… the atmosphere of a city under nightly bombardment is very well portrayed and I’m looking forward to the next book’ – Sunday Telegraph

Undertaker Francis Hancock has seen the worst that humanity can do to itself. Why then does the murder of a young gypsy girl in Epping Forest move him so much? Travellers, gypsies, the homeless, deserters and German spies inhabit this stretch of open ground that was once her home. Francis knows it’s not wise to delve into this human melting pot, but he is drawn to the exotic customs of the gypsies, their music and magic. But as he investigates the girl’s murder further, the death toll rises and Francis uncovers a much bigger conspiracy, at the heart of which lies something even Adolf Hitler is prepared to kill for…

What readers are saying about After the Mourning:

‘Probably one of the best books I have read in a long while’

‘I’d recommend this book to lovers of atmospheric and well-plotted crime novels

‘Nadel’s sense of time and place is outstanding’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 6th May 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755378524