Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Arabesk (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 3)

Arabesk (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 3)

Inspector Ikmen and Inspector Suleyman return in Arabesk, Barbara Nadel’s third novel in the gripping Inspector Ikmen series. Perfect for fans of Jason Goodwin and Adrian Magson.

‘The delight of the Nadel book is the sense of being taken beneath the surface of an ancient city which most visitors see for a few days at most’ – Independent

When the wife of one of Istanbul’s best known popular singers is found dead and his baby daughter missing, the newly promoted Inspector Suleyman, scion of one of Turkey’s most aristocratic families, finds himself plunged into the magnificently vulgar, overblown world of Arabesk music, dominated by an ageing star, the monstrous chanteuse, Tansu.

What readers are saying about Arabesk:

‘Written with wit and style, her plotting and characterisation are as sharp and original as ever’

A city and its crowded streets and ancient cultures come vividly alive – colours, sounds, smells, heat and dust lifting from the page’

‘Packed to the gills with cultural insights
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 12th May 2011

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9780755386420

Reviews

Praise for Barbara Nadel's previous novels: An unusual and very well written first novel...Although the murder mystery is intriguing, it is the characters who make this book so successful
Sunday Telegraph
Ikmen will go far...will have you looking over your shoulder
Scotsman
Exciting, accomplished and original
Literary Review
My crime reader is raving about this author
Bookseller
A thriller that presents a Middle Eastern city populated by human beings, rather than specimens of oriental exotica, and a British writer who can get inside a foreign skin
Independent
Mixing Ikmen's police work with parapsychology, blood and intuition makes for a read that is as riveting as it is undeniably disturbing
Good Book Guide
Idiosyncratic and evocative
The Times
Full of complex characters and louche atmosphere
Independent
Unusual and very well-written
Sunday Telegraph