Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Ashes to Ashes (Francis Hancock Mystery 3)

Ashes to Ashes (Francis Hancock Mystery 3)

As London burns, an unlikely hero unearths a series of brutal murders…

Ashes to Ashes
is the third novel in the acclaimed Francis Hancock World War Two crime series by Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Martin Walker and Maureen Jennings.

‘A great depiction of the period and a touchingly involuntary new sleuth’ – Guardian

As the German Luftwaffe bomb the capital, undertaker Francis Hancock suddenly finds himself caught up in the middle of a terrifying abduction plot.

It’s 29 December, 1940, the night that Hitler has chosen to destroy London under a barrage of flaming incendiary bombs. Their main target – St Paul’s cathedral – is where Hancock is sheltering from the onslaught. But the First World War veteran doesn’t just have bombs to contend with; a young girl, who was also sheltering in the cathedral, has vanished. Then some of those charged with protecting the building are brutally murdered. Hancock must face his own demons and fears in his struggle to catch those responsible and bring them to justice…

What readers are saying about Ashes to Ashes:

The details of people’s ordinary lives adds so much depth to the story

‘The tale covers madness, loyalty, patriotism, priorities, faith – all the deep stuff Barbara Nadel tackles so well’

‘Barbara Nadel is a seriously perceptive, interesting writer
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 12th May 2011

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755386437

Reviews

Praise for Barbara Nadel: 'The denouement is exciting...the atmosphere of a city under nightly bombardment is very well portrayed and I'm looking forward to the next book
Sunday Telegraph
Gripping and unusual detective story, vivid and poignant
Literary Review
Impeccable mystery plotting, exotic and atmospheric
Guardian
Intelligent and captivating
The Sunday Times