Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Belshazzar's Daughter (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 1)

Belshazzar's Daughter (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 1)

A secret worth killing for…

Barbara Nadel introduces Inspector Cetin Ikmen for the first time in her debut novel, Belshazzar’s Daughter. Perfect for fans of Jason Goodwin and Donna Leon.


‘Exciting, accomplished and original’ – Literary Review

Leonid Meyer is found murdered in his flat in Balat, Istanbul’s decrepit Jewish quarter, a swastika daubed on the wall in the old man’s blood. But Inspector Cetin Ikmen is quick to eschew the obvious conclusion that this is a racist attack. The evidence leads Ikmen and his young lieutenant, Suleyman, to two people: Robert Cornelius, a teacher observed outside Meyer’s flat shortly after the murder, and a retired businessman, Reinhold Smits, known to have had Nazi sympathies. But another link connects these two: a ninety-year-old Russian émigré, Maria Gulcu, a widow who thinks she possesses a secret worth killing for…

What readers are saying about Belshazzar’s Daughter:

‘An engaging, fascinating picture of life in Turkey. Wonderful characters and a deep plot that constantly draws one to read on’

‘An excellent murder mystery set in the twilight world of old aristocracies in modern day Istanbul’

‘An intense psychological drama with an impressive array of characters and colourful descriptions of the less salubrious areas of Istanbul. Nadel successfully evokes the hot sultry atmosphere of modern Turkey’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 9th December 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755382132

Reviews

Evocative and idiosyncratic
Good Book Guide
Praise for Barbara Nadel's previous novels: An unusual and very well written first novel...Although the murder mystery is intriguing, it is the characters who make this book so successful
Sunday Telegraph
Ikmen will go far...will have you looking over your shoulder
Scotsman
Exciting, accomplished and original
Literary Review
My crime reader is raving about this author
Bookseller
A thriller that presents a Middle Eastern city populated by human beings, rather than specimens of oriental exotica, and a British writer who can get inside a foreign skin
Independent
Mixing Ikmen's police work with parapsychology, blood and intuition makes for a read that is as riveting as it is undeniably disturbing
Good Book Guide
Idiosyncratic and evocative
The Times
Full of complex characters and louche atmosphere
Independent
Unusual and very well-written
Sunday Telegraph