Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Deep Waters (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 4)

Deep Waters (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 4)

With a fascinating and topical background, Deep Waters is the powerful fourth novel from one of crime fiction’s outstanding talents, Barbara Nadel. Nadel’s writing will appeal to fans of Donna Leon and Michael Dibdin.

‘Mixing Ikmen’s police work with parapsychology, blood and intuition makes for a read that is as riveting as it is undeniably disturbing’ – Good Book Guide

A man’s body, virtually decapitated, is found by the Bosphorus. His identity card names him as Rifat Berisha, an Albanian. The family is impenetrable but when Inspector Cetin Ikmen, whose mother was Albanian, consults his cousin, Samsun, he’s left in little doubt that Berisha’s death is likely to be the result of a fis, an implacable blood feud between rival Albanian families. Which means the blood already shed will have to be avenged. And if the Berishas or their enemies discover Ikmen is from a noted Albanian clan, some of the spilt blood might be his…

What readers are saying about Deep Waters:

A fiendishly plotted thriller, brilliantly written and wholly enthralling

Always fascinating, frequently chilling and ultimately unexpectedly moving, this is the work of a mature author at the height of her powers

‘Another brilliant dig into the underbelly of Istanbul life’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 12th May 2011

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755386451

Reviews

Mixing Ikmen's police work with parapsychology, blood and intuition makes for a read that is as riveting as it is undeniably disturbing
Good Book Guide
Praise for Barbara Nadel's previous novels: An unusual and very well written first novel...Although the murder mystery is intriguing, it is the characters who make this book so successful
Sunday Telegraph
Ikmen will go far...will have you looking over your shoulder
Scotsman
Exciting, accomplished and original
Literary Review
My crime reader is raving about this author
Bookseller
A thriller that presents a Middle Eastern city populated by human beings, rather than specimens of oriental exotica, and a British writer who can get inside a foreign skin
Independent
Idiosyncratic and evocative
The Times
Full of complex characters and louche atmosphere
Independent