Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Harem (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 5)

Harem (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 5)

A killer with means but no motive, and the body count is rising…

Love and greed make a deadly combination in the riveting ninth crime novel in Barbara Nadel’s Inspector Ikmen series. A Passion for Killing is the perfect read for fans of Adrian Magson and Donna Leon.


‘Nadel’s novels take in all of Istanbul – the mysterious, the beautiful, the hidden, the banal… Fascinating’ – Scotland on Sunday

A serial killer is stalking the streets of Istanbul, seemingly targeting gay men. A man is found dead in a hotel room, a single stab wound in his heart. Could he be a victim of the ‘Peeper’?

Inspector Mehmet Suleyman is assigned to the case, and is shocked to discover that the victim’s body has been delivered to forensics entirely ‘clean’. Has someone tampered with vital evidence? Meanwhile a young carpet dealer, on the brink of a huge sale, is discovered in the mangled remains of his Jeep, a bullet between his shoulder blades. The deal would have made him – the carpet he wanted to sell used to belong to Lawrence of Arabia. Did the young salesman know too much? Inspectors Cetin Ikmen and Suleyman uncover an incredible story and quickly realise that behind even the most respectable facade lurk passion, savagery and madness…

What readers are saying about A Passion for Killing:

‘A well-plotted thriller with a large cast of regular characters with whom you can empathise with’

‘Great page turner

‘This doesn’t fail to keep up the pace and intrigue found in the others [from the Inspector Ikmen series]’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 6th May 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755378555

Reviews

Praise for Barbara Nadel's previous novels: An unusual and very well written first novel...Although the murder mystery is intriguing, it is the characters who make this book so successful
Sunday Telegraph
Ikmen will go far...will have you looking over your shoulder
Scotsman
Exciting, accomplished and original
Literary Review
My crime reader is raving about this author
Bookseller
A thriller that presents a Middle Eastern city populated by human beings, rather than specimens of oriental exotica, and a British writer who can get inside a foreign skin
Independent
Mixing Ikmen's police work with parapsychology, blood and intuition makes for a read that is as riveting as it is undeniably disturbing
Good Book Guide
Idiosyncratic and evocative
The Times
Full of complex characters and louche atmosphere
Independent