Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

On the Bone (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18)

On the Bone (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18)

In Istanbul – the golden city on the Bosphorus – ancient myths and modern evils are at work…

On the Bone
is the eighteenth novel in the brilliant Istanbul crime thriller series starring Inspector Cetin Ikmen, ‘the Morse of Istanbul’ (Daily Telegraph), from Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Donna Leon and Lindsey Davis.

‘Nadel’s evocation of the shady underbelly of modern Turkey is one of the perennial joys of crime fiction’ – Mail on Sunday

On a buzzing street in the fashionable district of Beyoglu, a young man drops dead. Ümit Kavas’s death was natural but the autopsy betrays a shocking truth: his last meal was human flesh.

Under desperate pressure from their superiors, Inspector Cetin Ikmen and his colleague Mehmet Süleyman begin their most obscure investigation yet. How did Ümit Kavas, apparently a good, liberal man, come to partake in the greatest taboo of all? Did he act alone? And who was his victim?

Soon they find themselves embroiled in a dark web of underground worlds: of Turkey’s old secular elite; a community of squatters; and a new gastronomy scene breaking every boundary. But where does the truth lie?

What readers are saying about On the Bone:

‘Combines beautifully honed storytelling and fascinating insights into life in Istanbul’

‘One of her best yet’

Fascinating in its depiction of the changed Turkish political landscape, and how that change affects the people of Istanbul from all walks of life, from the rich to the poor, the transsexuals to the young married couples, the police departments to the military’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 14th January 2016

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781472213815

Reviews

Nadel's evocation of the shady underbelly of modern Turkey is one of the perennial joys of crime fiction
Mail on Sunday
Gripping and unusual detective story, vivid and poignant
Literary Review
The delight of Nadel's books is the sense of being taken beneath the surface of an ancient city... We look into the alleyways and curious dark quarters of Istanbul, full of complex characters and louche atmosphere
Independent
Impeccable mystery plotting, exotic and atmospheric
Guardian
Inspector Çetin Ikmen is one of detective fiction's most likeable investigators, despite his grumpy and unsociable character...think of him as the Morse of Istanbul
Daily Telegraph
Intelligent and captivating
Sunday Times