Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Petrified (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 6)

Petrified (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 6)

Madness, obsession and a curiously preserved corpse in Istanbul…

Petrified
is the sixth dark and gripping mystery from the Inspector Ikmen series by the hugely talented crime writer, Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Donna Leon and Jason Goodwin.

‘Atmospheric, skilfully written and well plotted’ – Time Out

Summer in Istanbul is hot. The kind of heat that can drive even the sanest people a little crazy…

An elderly woman is found dead in a flat with the perfectly preserved body of a young man. In an ancient part of the Jewish quarter, two children are missing. Their father, an artist whose genius borders on insanity, only seems more driven in his work. And a raid on a Russian gangster yields nothing except the dead body of a girl he claims is his daughter. Could the connection to all cases lie in a macabre forgotten art? But Inspector Cetin Ikmen’s worries aren’t just work-related. His protégé, Suleyman, is going dangerously off the rails, threatening to compromise not just himself, but months of painstaking investigation. Ikmen faces a complex case which threatens to rock the very fabric of Turkish society.

What readers are saying about Petrified:

‘A well-crafted interplay of stories – absolutely fascinating

An intriguing mystery that impresses for its descriptions of life within multicultural Istanbul and its characters

‘The theme and characters stayed with me for days after I had read this book’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 6th May 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755378562

Reviews

The consistency with which Nadel has delivered atmospheric, sharply characterized novels in her Istanbul-set series of Inspector Ikmen thrillers is nothing short of amazing.... This is Nadel at her best
Good Book Guide