Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

River of The Dead (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 11)

River of The Dead (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 11)

The shadows of an ancient city hide a very modern murder…

River of the Dead
is a chilling psycho-mystery from the highly acclaimed and award-winning author Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and M J Lee.

‘This page turner of a book proceeds to an exciting conclusion… picking up and reading the 11th title by Barbara Nadel was like putting on a comfortable pair of gloves; she writes with such fluidity and grace about a country she has a lot of intimacy with… a real delight’ – Eurocrime.co.uk

Convicted murderer and drug baron Yusuf Kaya has escaped from Istanbul prison. He appears to have had inside help…

Inspector Cetin Ikmen is called to investigate Kaya’s contacts in the city, while Inspector Suleyman heads to Kaya’s home town of Mardin, a dangerous city in the south east of Turkey. Back in Istanbul, as Ikmen delves deeper into Kaya’s past, the body count continues to rise. Meanwhile, Suleyman discovers that Kaya has another wife in Mardin, an American woman heavily guarded by members of the Kaya clan. It’s not long before the two Inspectors are caught up in a terrifying web of arms and drug running, terrorism, blackmail and murder…

What readers are saying about River of the Dead:

‘A compelling and complex story line’

‘I found this book very moving and very spiritual

‘She [Barbara Nadel] is consistently excellent
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 13th May 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755378944

Reviews

Praise for Barbara Nadel: 'The denouement is exciting...the atmosphere of a city under nightly bombardment is very well portrayed and I'm looking forward to the next book
Sunday Telegraph
Gripping and unusual detective story, vivid and poignant
Literary Review
Impeccable mystery plotting, exotic and atmospheric
Guardian
Intelligent and captivating
The Sunday Times