Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Sure and Certain Death

Sure and Certain Death

A brilliant evocation of the period and a truly unnerving, menacing and original plot…

Sure and Certain Death
is the fourth chilling World War Two crime mystery in the Francis Hancock series by award-winning Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Davis and Nicola Upson.

East London, 1940: Francis Hancock finds the brutally eviscerated body of a woman in a derelict house. Francis’ sister, Nancy, knew the victim. Then, shockingly, two more murders follow. Rumours start to spread through the East End about another Jack the Ripper. When a fourth woman is murdered, Nancy admits that she knew all of the victims, and Francis sets out to find the killer, discovering a trail of murderous resentment that goes back decades…

What readers are saying about Sure and Certain Death:

‘For Nadel fans, Sure and Certain Death is a must-read, as it is for historians of East London’

Atmospheric, touching, different and unputdownable!

‘More brutal murders in a storyline that is gripping to the last page
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 12th May 2011

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9780755386468

Reviews

Praise for Barbara Nadel: 'I can't think of a better summertime read
Mail on Sunday
Gripping and unusual detective story, vivid and poignant
Literary Review
Impeccable mystery plotting, exotic and atmospheric
Guardian
Intelligent and captivating
The Sunday Times