We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The sweeping third instalment of Carol McGrath’s acclaimed She-Wolves Trilogy: the gripping series exploring the tumultous lives and loves of three queens of England – and of three women who lived in their shadow, in an era shaped by powerful women.

Based on the extraordinary true story of the female stonemason who carved a queen’s tomb, The Stone Rose traces the life of fierce, self-destructive Isabella of France. Wife to a weak king, Isabella finds herself facing enemies from the wild north, in a war with Scotland, and from within her own family: her uncle Lancaster, whose attempts to rein in royal power cause a rift between them.

But Isabella soon comes to realise that this is a love story. And the threat to the kingdom is a threat to her marriage – and to her own life . . .


'A rich tapestry of a book . . . Brilliantly researched and cleverly brought to life . . . Wonderful'
Joanna Courtney
'Intense, gripping and intricately plotted'
Alexandra Walsh
'Completely engrossed me from the start . . . Incredibly rich and vividly told . . . A wonderful read!'
Nicola Cornick
'A fascinating historical figure vividly captured in a beautifully narrated novel . . . Perfect'
K. J. Maitland
'Carol McGrath excels at sweeping the reader away on an engrossing journey . . . The perfect balance between great storytelling and superb research'
Jane Johnson

The She-Wolves Trilogy