We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Echoes of the Runes

Echoes of the Runes

The pacy, evocative and romantic new dual-time novel from Christina Courtenay is perfect for fans of Barbara Erskine, Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander and Vikings.

‘Wow! This book should come with warning! It’s almost as addictive as chocolate!’ 5* reader review

‘Fabulous. Highly recommended for fans of Barbara Erskine and Susanna Kearsley – and if you want a thumping good read’ 5* reader review

‘Completely magical’ Nicola Cornick

‘A rich, dual-timeline story that totally drew me in’ Sue Moorcroft


‘A fabulous adventure, with characters I loved!’ Jo Thomas

Their love was forbidden. But echoed in eternity.

When Mia inherits her beloved grandmother’s summer cottage, Birch Thorpe, in Sweden, she faces a dilemma. Her fiance Charles urges her to sell and buy a swanky London home, but Mia cannot let it go easily. The request to carry out an archaeological dig for more Viking artefacts like the gold ring Mia’s grandmother also left her, offers her a reprieve from a decision – and from Charles.

Whilst Mia becomes absorbed in the dig’s discoveries, she finds herself drawn to archaeologist Haakon Berger. Like her, he can sense the past inhabitants whose lives are becoming more vivid every day. Trying to resist the growing attraction between them, Mia and Haakon begin to piece together the story of a Welsh noblewoman, Ceri, and the mysterious Viking, known as the ‘White Hawk’, who stole her away from her people in 869 AD.

As the present begins to echo the past, and enemies threaten Birch Thorpe’s inhabitants, they will all have to fight to protect what has become most precious to each of them…

‘Courtenay’s writing brings the past vividly to life, using dual-period narrative to brilliant effect’ Historical Novels Review

‘I was compelled to read on as I was caught up in the adventure, intrigue and romance of the dual timelines’ Sue Fortin

‘Sparklingly authentic – and page-turning’ Maggie Sullivan

‘Rich in Viking history…intrigue, adventure and romance’ Glynis Peters


‘Christina Courtenay weaves the threads of her contemporary and Viking love stories together expertly and the novel moves along at a cracking pace. The characters are appealing and the rural Swedish setting is engaging’ Judith Lennox

Don’t miss Christina’s stunning new timeslip novel, The Runes of Destiny – available to preorder now! Search 9781472268235.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 5th March 2020

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9781472268259