We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Brimming with romance, adventure and vivid historical detail, Christina Courtenay does for the Vikings what

Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander and Clanlans does for Scottish history. The bestselling author of Echoes of the Runes spins a thrilling and epic new timeslip tale, perfect for fans of Barbara Erskine.

‘Seals Christina Courtenay’s crown as the Queen of Viking Romance’ CATHERINE MILLER

‘An absorbing story, fast-paced and vividly imagined, which really brought the Viking world to life’ PAMELA HARTSHORNE

‘A love story and an adventure, all rolled up inside a huge amount of intricately-detailed, well-researched history. Thoroughly enjoyable’ KATHLEEN MCGURL

‘Prepare to be swept along in this treasure of an adventure! With a smart, courageous heroine and hunky, honourable hero at the helm, what’s not to like?’ KATE RYDER

Christina’s next stunning timeslip novel, Whispers of the Runes, is available to preorder now! Search 9781472282682.

‘Highly recommended for lovers of historical romance and timeslips, it’s another absorbing read. 5 stars’ GEORGIA HILL

‘An amazing page-turner filled with superb historical detail, it had me gripped from the first page to the last – I absolutely loved it!’ CLARE MARCHANT

‘Every story Christina Courtenay spins is better than the last and every world she creates is more real. I loved The Runes of Destiny!’ SUE MOORCROFT

‘This book has brought the 9th century world alive to me and made me desperate to read more about it’ GILL STEWART


Separated by time. Brought together by fate.


Indulging her fascination for the Viking language and losing herself in an archaeological dig is just what Linnea Berger needs after her recent trauma. Uncovering an exquisite brooch, she blacks out reading the runic inscription, only to come to, surrounded by men in Viking costume, who seem to take re-enactment very seriously.

Lost and confused, Linnea finds herself in the power of Hrafn, a Viking warrior who claims her as his thrall and takes her on a treacherous journey across the seas to sell her for profit. Setting sail, she confronts the unthinkable: she has travelled back to the ninth century.

Linnea is determined to find a way back to her own time, but there’s a connection forming with Hrafn. Can she resist the call of the runes and accept her destiny lies here…

Don’t miss Christina’s pacy, evocative and romantic dual-time novel, Echoes of the Runes, out now:

‘Completely magical’ Nicola Cornick

‘A rich, dual-timeline story that totally drew me in’ Sue Moorcroft


‘Courtenay’s writing brings the past vividly to life, using dual-period narrative to brilliant effect’ Historical Novels Review

‘I was compelled to read on as I was caught up in the adventure, intrigue and romance of the dual timelines’ Sue Fortin

‘Sparklingly authentic – and page-turning’ Maggie Sullivan

‘Rich in Viking history…intrigue, adventure and romance’ Glynis Peters


‘Christina Courtenay weaves the threads of her contemporary and Viking love stories together expertly and the novel moves along at a cracking pace. The characters are appealing and the rural Swedish setting is engaging’ Judith Lennox