We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Entertaining Mr Pepys

Entertaining Mr Pepys

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, Anne O’Brien and Elizabeth Chadwick, Deborah Swift brings a unique period in history to vivid, fascinating life in her acclaimed Pepys trilogy.



‘A remarkably beguiling read. It transported me to the glitter and filth of seventeenth century London’ Martine Bailey, author of The Almanack

‘The fusion of historical facts and fiction is so flawless that it is hard to know where reality ends and fiction begins’ Readers’ Favorite

London, 1666. Elizabeth ‘Bird’ Carpenter has a wonderful singing voice, and music is her chief passion. When her father persuades her to marry horse-dealer Christopher Knepp, she suspects she is marrying beneath her station, but nothing prepares her for the reality of life with Knepp. Her father has betrayed her trust, for Knepp cares only for his horses; he is a tyrant and a bully, and will allow Bird no life of her own.

When Knepp goes away, she grasps her chance and, encouraged by her maidservant Livvy, makes a secret visit to the theatre. Entranced by the music, the glitter and glamour of the surroundings, and the free and outspoken manner of the women on the stage, she falls in love with the theatre and is determined to forge a path of her own as an actress.

But life in the theatre was never going to be straightforward – for a jealous rival wants to spoil her plans, and worse, Knepp forbids it, and Bird must use all her wit and intelligence to change his mind.

Based on events depicted in the famous Diary of Samuel Pepys, Entertaining Mr Pepys brings London in the 17th Century to life. It includes the vibrant characters of the day such as the diarist himself and actress Nell Gwynne, and features a dazzling and gripping finale during the Great Fire Of London.

The third in Deborah Swift’s atmospheric trilogy, bringing to life the women in Pepys’ Diary. Each novel features a different character and can be read as a standalone book.

PRAISE FOR THE PEPYS TRILOGY:

‘Swift is a consummate historical novelist, basing her books on immaculate research and then filling the gaps between real events and real people with eloquent storytelling, atmospheric scene setting and imaginative plot lines’ The Visitor

‘A novel that transports readers with astonishing and engrossing detail’ Readers’ Favorite 5*

‘Pepys and his world spring to vibrant life… Gripping, revealing and stunningly imagined’ Lancashire Evening Post
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 22nd October 2019

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781786154149

Reviews

A remarkably beguiling read. It transported me to the glitter and filth of seventeenth century London
Martine Bailey, author of <i>The Almanack</i>
The fusion of historical facts and fiction is so flawless that it is hard to know where reality ends and fiction begins
Readers Favourite Review

Women Of Pepys' Diary Series