Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Past Life

Past Life

THE ONLY THING DETECTIVE ABIGAIL BOONE REMEMBERS…IS THE WORST THING THAT EVER HAPPENED TO HER.

From a blistering new voice in crime fiction, PAST LIFE is a gripping, thrilling and razor-sharp debut perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Tim Weaver, Tana French, Joseph Knox, Jane Harper and Don Winslow.

‘A great story told with real poise‘ Simon Kernick, Sunday Times bestseller

‘A beautifully written debut’ Daily Mail

‘This powerhouse novel is not for the fragile-hearted, but if you like your crime visceral…this is one hell of a debut. Heat

Waking up beside the dead girl, she couldn’t remember anything.
Who she was. Who had taken her. How to escape.

Detective Abigail Boone has been missing for four days when she is finally found, confused and broken. Suffering retrograde amnesia, she is a stranger to her despairing husband and bewildered son.

Hopelessly lost in her own life, with no leads on her abduction, Boone’s only instinct is to revisit the case she was investigating when she vanished: the baffling disappearance of a young woman, Sarah Still.

Defying her family and the police, Boone obsessively follows a deadly trail to the darkest edges of human cruelty. But even if she finds Sarah, will Boone ever be the same again?

‘It’s gripping, addictive, a thrill of a ride. This is crime as it should be written. One of the best, original introductions of a protagonist I’ve read.’ Jo Spain, international bestseller

‘An astonishing debut’ Woman’s Own

‘A smart, distinctive debut’ Sunday Mirror

‘I really loved this…a twisting, heart-wrenching story with wonderfully vivid characters’
Claire McGowan

‘I loved it. Boone is such a compelling character. It’s taut, beautifully written and at some points the tension is almost too much to bear.‘ Harriet Tyce

‘Memory is at the centre of Nolan’s bold and sharply written book…In a genre oversaturated by samey stories, Past Life is a dark crime fiction debut that feels fresh, smart and thrilling
.’ Culturefly

WHY BLOGGERS AND READERS ARE ALREADY RAVING ABOUT PAST LIFE:

‘Gripped me from page one all the way to the end…an assured and adept novel from another fresh writer entering the crime fiction arena. A superb debut you won’t forget!‘ ***** Crimesquad

‘An amazing debut novel
Anne Bonny Book Reviews

‘I highly recommend to anyone
but especially to those who like their crime fiction to have genuine depth…loved it.’ LizLovesBooks

‘Past Life is gripping and completely intense; once it grabs a hold of you, it refuses to let go.’ The Book Magnet

Beautifully written, thrilling and heartbreaking…I can really see this in my top ten reads of 2019 and it’s only February.’ Lost In The Land of Books

‘An AMAZING debut novel’ ***** Goodreads reviewer

‘A fast-paced electric thriller of book…a 5-star read for me.’ ***** Goodreads reviewer

‘That’s a damn good read.’ ***** Goodreads reviewer

Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 7th March 2019

Price: £18.99

ISBN-13: 9781472254658

Reviews

A great story told with real poise
Simon Kernick
Memory is at the centre of Nolan's bold and sharply written book...In a genre oversaturated by samey stories, Past Life is a dark crime fiction debut that feels fresh, smart and thrilling
Culturefly
A policewoman suffering amnesia must find the truth about her own violent kidnapping in Dominic Nolan's thrilling, roller coaster debut. Tense, gripping and full of twists and turns, this read will keep you on the edge of your seat.
Dead Good Books
I really loved this...a twisting, heart-wrenching story with wonderfully vivid characters
Claire McGowan
It's gripping, addictive, a thrill of a ride. This is crime as it should be written. one of the best, original introductions of a protagonist I've read
Jo Spain