Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Child On Platform One: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction

The Child On Platform One: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction

‘An outstanding book made more poignant as it’s threaded with events that actually happened. The characters and their moving stories will haunt you long after you finish the last page. Thoroughly recommend’ Shirley Dickson, author of The Orphan Sisters

‘OH MY HEART! Moved me DEEP FROM WITHIN. I cannot recommend it enough’ The Writing Garnet

‘I was RIVETED… I LOVED the book *****’ I’m Hooked on Books

Inspired by the real-life escape of thousands of Jewish children from Nazi-occupied Europe on the Kindertransport trains to London, the new novel from the author of The Oceans Between Us Gill Thompson. For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz Heather Morris, My Name is Eva by Suzanne Goldring and A View Across the Rooftops by Suzanne Kelman.

Prague 1939. Young mother Eva has a secret from her past. When the Nazis invade, Eva knows the only way to keep her daughter Miriam safe is to send her away – even if it means never seeing her again. But when Eva is taken to a concentration camp, her secret is at risk of being exposed.

In London, Pamela volunteers to help find places for the Jewish children arrived from Europe. Befriending one unclaimed little girl, Pamela brings her home. It is only when her young son enlists in the RAF that Pamela realises how easily her own world could come crashing down.

Some of the 5* reader reviews for THE CHILD ON PLATFORM ONE:

‘Such a gorgeous book. I loved and believed in all the characters, and thoroughly enjoyed their stories. Incredibly researched, it felt authentic. And the ending moved me to tears *****’

‘OMG What an incredible read. It was so emotional about a Jewish girl. I was engrossed from start to finish and would highly recommend this book *****’

‘This book was incredible… The story is realistic and believable. Once you start reading you will not want to stop *****’

‘An emotional, haunting book filled with secrets throughout. Excellent *****’

‘I loved the book and the way it was written. I will be reading more novels by Gill Thompson in the future as her interweaving of events with fictional characters is remarkable *****’

‘This was a great book! There are secrets you will not see coming, but it makes it more heartwarming *****’

‘It’s not your normal evacuee story as it’s intertwined with other stories which I really enjoyed. It had me gripped. I will be looking out for more books by this author *****’

‘This is a very good book. I recommend you read *****’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Adventure / War & Combat Fiction / Second World War Fiction

On Sale: 19th March 2020

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781472258014