Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Child On Platform One: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction

The Child On Platform One: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction

Inspired by the real-life escape of thousands of Jewish children from Nazi-occupied Europe on the Kindertransport trains to London, the new novel from the author of The Oceans Between Us Gill Thompson. For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz Heather Morris, The Choice Edith Eger and Lilac Girls Martha Hall Kelly.

Prague 1939. Young mother Eva has a secret from her past. When the Nazis invade, Eva knows the only way to keep her daughter Miriam safe is to send her away – even if it means never seeing her again. But when Eva is taken to a concentration camp, her secret is at risk of being exposed.

In London, Pamela volunteers to help find places for the Jewish children arrived from Europe. Befriending one unclaimed little girl, Pamela brings her home. It is only when her young son enlists in the RAF that Pamela realises how easily her own world could come crashing down.

Praise for Gill Thompson’s The Oceans Between Us

‘A warm-hearted tale of love, loss and indefatigable human spirit’ Kathryn Hughes

‘A heartrending story’ Jane Corry

‘Gill Thompson has brought us a a beautiful tale of a mother’s love whilst also tackling a very dark and awful period in British and Australian history. A wonderful book. Full of emotion, heart, joy and sorrow’ Emma’s Bookish Corner

‘I flew through this emotional book with a lump in my heart and watery eyes’ Between My Lines

‘A heart-wrenching debut novel. A story based on actual events which will have you glued to the pages. I was unable to put the book down. Outstanding’ Waggy Tales blog

‘A story that will touch every reader’s heart’ By The Letter Book Reviews
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Adventure / War & Combat Fiction / Second World War Fiction

On Sale: 1st December 2019

Price: £14.99

ISBN-13: 9781472257994