We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Paperback / ISBN-13: 9781472296764

Price: £7.99

ON SALE: 28th March 2024

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘One of the nation’s favourite saga writers’ Lancashire Post

‘Jennie Felton knows how to tell a cracking story and keep the reader gripped’ Books With Wine and Chocolate


In the tradition of Dilly Court, Rosie Goodwin and Josephine Cox comes a heartrending and unforgettable saga about a mother, her daughters and the shocking events that threaten to destroy their lives. There is no strength like the strength of a mother determined to protect her children . . .


Somerset, 1911. Miner’s wife Lorna Harrison sometimes wonders what became of her marriage. The affection has gone, and her husband Harry is surly and cold. But Lorna will always be grateful for the joy that their two daughters bring.

When a devastating accident occurs at the pit and Harry is unable to work, Lorna worries about how she will make ends meet. Worse, the pit owner wants them out of their house. And neighbours turn their backs, as rumours spread that Harry helped cause the mine collapse.

At her lowest ebb, Lorna is befriended by Bradley Robinson, the colliery safety officer, whose kindness is a beacon of light. But as shocking secrets are revealed, Lorna wonders if Bradley is only using her to learn the truth about the pit. As she struggles to keep her daughters safe, Lorna must decide if she can trust the man she is falling in love with . . .

What's Inside

Read More Read Less