Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

All My Sisters

All My Sisters

Under the storm clouds of war, can they hope for happiness?

In the tumultuous years before the First World War, four sisters seek to follow their dreams in Judith Lennox’s compelling novel All My Sisters. Perfect for fans of Lulu Taylor and Kate Morton.


Iris, Marianne, Eva and Clemency are the daughters of Sheffield manufacturer, Joshua Maclise. In the tumultuous years before the First World War, the sisters seek to fulfil their ambitions. Pretty, self-centred Iris dreams of a grand marriage, quiet Marianne meets the love of her life, and passionate Eva longs for independence. Only Clemency, caring for her invalid mother, remains tied to the family home.

Years pass and, her hopes of marriage dashed, Iris becomes a nurse in a London hospital. Marianne, living on a tea estate in Ceylon, finds first her happiness and then her life is threatened by a cruel and ruthless man. When Eva falls in love with the Bohemian, Gabriel Bellamy, her dreams of a career as an artist falter. As the clouds darken and war changes the lives of all the sisters, Clemency fights to free herself from the bonds that confine her and to discover love at last.

What readers are saying about All My Sisters:

‘This is a book to savour – so many characters, all of them well drawn and who invite our sympathy. A wonderful story’

‘[Judith Lennox] is the ultimate storyteller… her stories are compelling and beautifully descriptive of both characters and feelings’

Happy and sad, [this book] has all the qualities to make for an excellent read
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 7th May 2015

Price: £3.49

ISBN-13: 9781472224132

Reviews

Praise for Judith Lennox: Judith Lennox's writing is so keenly honest it could sever heartstrings
Daily Mail
A fast-moving, complex story
The Times
Completely unputdownable... a lovely, entrancing book
New Books Magazine
A gripping and intelligent romance
Good Book Guide
A sensitive examination of love and loss by this master storyteller
Choice Magazine
The characters are in many ways so normal, yet in other ways so unbelievably wonderful, in this gripping and heartfelt story
Newcastle Herald
Compelling storytelling
Woman & Home
A compelling novel... Lennox's prose is detailed but never overly dense and powerful when describing prosaic scenes
Sunday Express
A novel of passion and intrigue, this is an enjoyable read populated by believable characters
Candis