Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Middlemere

Middlemere

When a family is forced to leave its beloved home, the sense of injustice never dies…

Middlemere is a compelling tale of one family and their quest for independence from acclaimed author Judith Lennox. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Kate Morton.


The Coles have lived in Middlemere for half a century. When, in 1942, they are threatened with eviction, they flee the house. But not before eight-year-old Romy, hiding in a cupboard, sees her father shot dead.

Years later Romy, now almost nineteen, is quick, clever and single-minded. She schemes to restore the family fortunes, to rescue her mother from drudgery and to protect her brother, Jem, a charming scoundrel who is always in trouble. Most of all, she longs to escape the poverty and narrowness of her surroundings. A chance meeting with Mirabel Plummer, owner of the exclusive London hotel, The Trelawney, is about to change Romy’s life for ever…

What readers are saying about Judith Lennox:

Ideal escapism

‘[Judith Lennox] is the ultimate storyteller… her stories are compelling and beautifully descriptive of both characters and feelings’

‘Ms Lennox’s writing is truly amazing, and creates characters that remain with me after the last page is turned’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 7th May 2015

Price: £3.49

ISBN-13: 9781472224125

Reviews

Praise for Judith Lennox: Judith Lennox's writing is so keenly honest it could sever heartstrings
Daily Mail
A fast-moving, complex story
The Times
Completely unputdownable... a lovely, entrancing book
New Books Magazine
A gripping and intelligent romance
Good Book Guide
A sensitive examination of love and loss by this master storyteller
Choice Magazine
The characters are in many ways so normal, yet in other ways so unbelievably wonderful, in this gripping and heartfelt story
Newcastle Herald
Compelling storytelling
Woman & Home
A compelling novel... Lennox's prose is detailed but never overly dense and powerful when describing prosaic scenes
Sunday Express
A novel of passion and intrigue, this is an enjoyable read populated by believable characters
Candis