Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Italian Garden

The Italian Garden

Striking out on her own path of independence, what will she leave in her wake?

Set amid the wealth and beauty of sixteenth-century Europe, Judith Lennox’s novel, The Italian Garden, transports her readers to a tempestuous world of love and betrayal.
Perfect for fans of Rachel Hore and Dinah Jefferies.

The du Chantonnay estate of Marigny on the Loire consumes the desires of two powerful men – bitter, worldly-wise Guillaume du Chantonnay, and ruthless Hamon de Bohun – who will stop at nothing to possess it. Toby Crow, a young soldier of fortune, is also drawn to Marigny, for his mysterious origins are somehow bound up with the chateau.

Italy’s most priceless beauty, exotic Joanna Zulian, would crown Marigny’s perfection. But Joanna, bred a vagabond and newly escaped from a stifling marriage to the artist Gaetano, vows never again to be possessed by any man, nor obey any laws but her own. With the help of the adoring English doctor Martin and a reluctant Toby, Joanna forges her own path through war-ravaged Europe.

And when Joanna comes at last to Marigny, it is to weave the whole intricate tale of the de Bohuns, the du Chantonnays, and her own colourful life into the Italian garden she designs. It will be her own legacy, a legacy fraught with danger…

What readers are saying about The Italian Garden:

‘I loved the time period, the colourful background of Venice… the development of the characters and the twists in the plot. Great writing

‘Another wonderful story of power and greed, but always with the thread of passion

Thoroughly absorbing read, was gripped throughout’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 9th April 2015

Price: £3.49

ISBN-13: 9781472224040

Reviews

The characters are in many ways so normal, yet in other ways so unbelievably wonderful, in this gripping and heartfelt story
Newcastle Herald
A sensitive examination of love and loss by this master storyteller
Choice Magazine
A beautifully turned, compassionate novel. Judith Lennox's writing is so keenly honest it could sever heartstrings
Daily Mail
Completely unputdownable... a lovely, entrancing book
New Books Magazine
A gripping and intelligent romance
Good Book Guide
Praise for Judith Lennox: A fast-moving, complex story
The Times
Compelling storytelling
Woman & Home
A compelling novel... Lennox's prose is detailed but never overly dense and powerful when describing prosaic scenes
Sunday Express