Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Winter House

The Winter House

Three women must find their way through a world changed by war…

Set against a backdrop of London, Paris and the unchanging English countryside, The Winter House by Judith Lennox is a novel of rare warmth and beauty.
Perfect for fans of Rachel Hore and Santa Montefiore.

‘A novel of passion and intrigue, this is an enjoyable read populated by believable characters’ – Candis

For three girls growing up in the Fens in the tumultuous years between the First and Second World Wars, the Winter House was a special place of refuge and friendship.

Winter or summer, they would meet at the old wooden house by the waterside to confide all the secrets and heartaches of childhood and adolescence. There was Robin, idealistic and clever, destined for Cambridge; Maia, the most beautiful and ambitious of the three, looking for a rich husband; and quiet Helen, living under the seemingly benevolent tyranny of her widower father, the local vicar. Adulthood separates the three girls, and Robin, abandoning ideas of university, goes to London to work amongst the poor, meeting there her first great love, the handsome but brittle Francis. Maia’s ideal marriage to a wealthy man ends in tragedy and Helen, meanwhile, kept in near-imprisonment by her obsessively protective father, has her very sanity threatened. Amid political and social upheaval, these three women must find their way in a world changed for ever.

What readers are saying about The Winter House:

‘She writes so beautifully and nostalgically… Judith Lennox is truly a great writer

‘[Judith Lennox’s] characters are marvellously drawn, and their lives draw the reader totally into the story

Couldn’t put it down
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 9th April 2015

Price: £3.49

ISBN-13: 9781472224064

Reviews

Praise for Judith Lennox: A novel of passion and intrigue, this is an enjoyable read populated by believable characters
Candis
Judith Lennox's writing is so keenly honest it could sever heartstrings
Daily Mail
A fast-moving, complex story
The Times
Completely unputdownable... a lovely, entrancing book
New Books Magazine
A gripping and intelligent romance
Good Book Guide
A sensitive examination of love and loss by this master storyteller
Choice Magazine
The characters are in many ways so normal, yet in other ways so unbelievably wonderful, in this gripping and heartfelt story
Newcastle Herald
Compelling storytelling
Woman & Home
A compelling novel... Lennox's prose is detailed but never overly dense and powerful when describing prosaic scenes
Sunday Express