Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Till the Day Goes Down

Till the Day Goes Down

Turbulence and passion drive an unforgettable historical epic…

16th century Europe is the setting for Judith Lennox’s thrillingly epic novel Till the Day Goes Down. Perfect for fans of Rosanna Ley and Kate Morton.


As England prepares for the threat of invasion, Catholic forces in France, Scotland and Spain plan the ‘Enterprise of England’, weaving a cat’s-cradle of intrigue around the imprisoned Mary, Queen of Scots, to bring her to the throne. In London, Sir Frances Walsingham, Elizabeth I’s Secretary of State and master of espionage, pits his intellect against the forces that threaten England.

The Anglo-Scots border, too, is a battleground, an anarchic land whose people acknowledge no allegiance but to their family name. But Luke Ridley, illegitimate son of a gypsy, has no allegiances: he must earn his living in whatever way he can. He is caught up in treacheries both of his own and of Sir Francis Walsingham’s making.

Into the dangerous melting-pot of Northumberland arrive Christie and Arbel Forster. Fragile, amoral Arbel is a catalyst for all the simmering tensions of the borders; Christie has her own obsession: to rediscover the family she lost years before in the terror of the French Wars of Religion. The blood-feud between the Forsters and the Ridleys has been in abeyance; now it begins to smoulder again, its embers rekindled by the passions and betrayals of the past.

What readers are saying about Judith Lennox:

‘Judith Lennox writes wonderful stories which are compelling and beautifully descriptive

‘Another wonderful story of power and greed, but always with the thread of passion

Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 9th April 2015

Price: £3.49

ISBN-13: 9781472224026

Reviews

Praise for Judith Lennox: A fast-moving, complex story
The Times
A beautifully turned, compassionate novel. Judith Lennox's writing is so keenly honest it could sever heartstrings
Daily Mail
Completely unputdownable... a lovely, entrancing book
New Books Magazine
A sensitive examination of love and loss by this master storyteller
Choice Magazine
A gripping and intelligent romance
Good Book Guide
The characters are in many ways so normal, yet in other ways so unbelievably wonderful, in this gripping and heartfelt story
Newcastle Herald
Compelling storytelling
Woman & Home
A compelling novel... Lennox's prose is detailed but never overly dense and powerful when describing prosaic scenes
Sunday Express