Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Written on Glass

Written on Glass

Can anything break the ties that bind?

Two families are torn apart by love, secrets and betrayal
in the aftermath of the Second World War in Judith Lennox’s spellbinding novel Written on Glass. Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore and Lucinda Riley.

It is 1946 and the old families of the Temperleys and the Chancellors have been neighbours on the South Coast of England for many years. Now the younger generation has been touched by the Second World War. Reserved, principled and cool-headed Marius Temperley has left the army and is struggling to fit into civilian life. His twenty-one year old sister, Julia, is quick-tempered, proud and passionate and, since her father’s recent death, has been running the family business, fiercely independent in her ambitions. Handsome, but emotionally distant Jack Chancellor has been demobbed and has another problem to face. Both he and his younger, more naive and impetuous brother Will, are in love with Julia. Jack doesn’t want to lose her, but his sweet, slightly gawky cousin, Topaz, lets slip that their imperious Aunt Carrie has a plan for him: if he leaves Julia, he will inherit Sixfields, the beautiful family farm. As the years go by, the family secrets come out, and it seems that the ties that bind can change relationships for ever…

What readers are saying about Written on Glass:

Beautifully written, poignant and hauntinga book that I have never forgotten

I couldn’t put this book down, and I look forward to reading more from this wonderful author’

One of the best books I have ever read
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 7th May 2015

Price: £3.49

ISBN-13: 9781472224118

Reviews

Praise for Judith Lennox: Judith Lennox's writing is so keenly honest it could sever heartstrings
Daily Mail
A fast-moving, complex story
The Times
Completely unputdownable... a lovely, entrancing book
New Books Magazine
A gripping and intelligent romance
Good Book Guide
A sensitive examination of love and loss by this master storyteller
Choice Magazine
The characters are in many ways so normal, yet in other ways so unbelievably wonderful, in this gripping and heartfelt story
Newcastle Herald
Compelling storytelling
Woman & Home
A compelling novel... Lennox's prose is detailed but never overly dense and powerful when describing prosaic scenes
Sunday Express
A novel of passion and intrigue, this is an enjoyable read populated by believable characters
Candis