We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A Killing in the Hills (Bell Elkins, Book 1)

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780755392896

Price: £8.99

ON SALE: 30th August 2012

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

In a town ravaged by deception, can one woman make a difference?

From Pulitzer-prize winner Julia Keller comes A Killing in the Hills, the first in a series featuring prosecuting attorney Bell Elkins, set in the beautiful, crime-ridden town of Acker’s Gap. Perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Henning Mankell.


‘A terrific debut – atmospheric, suspenseful, assured. I hope there’s more to come in the story of Bell Elkins and Acker’s Gap’ – Laura Lippman

Nestled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains, visitors see only Acker’s Gap’s stunning natural beauty. But for those living there it’s a different story. The mountain roads harbour secret places, perfect for making the prescription drugs that tempt its desperately poor.

Bell Elkins left a broken teenager, savaged by a past she couldn’t forget. But, as prosecuting attorney for Raythune County, Bell is back and determined to help clean up the only home she has ever known.
As winter sets in and her daughter is witness to a shocking triple murder, Bell finds her family in danger. Can she uncover the truth before her world is destroyed again?

What readers are saying about A Killing in the Hills:

‘A mesmerizing book’

‘The intertwined plots play out against a beautiful portrayal of this rural area, a wonderfully conveyed portrait

‘I am an avid thriller reader and in my opinion this ranks among the best of them’

Reviews

Praise for Julia Keller: A terrific debut - atmospheric, suspenseful, assured. I hope there's more to come in the story of Bell Elkins and Acker's Gap
Laura Lippman
A rare talent and a must read
Karin Slaughter
A remarkably written and remarkably tense debut. I loved it
Dennis Lehane
Be careful opening this book because once you do you won't be able to close it. A killer novel
Tom Franklin
A gripping, beautifully crafted murder-mystery
Scott Turow
A beautiful writer
Michael Connelly