Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Evening Street (A Bell Elkins Novella)

Evening Street (A Bell Elkins Novella)

Can Bell protect the innocent?

Lead prosecutor Bell Elkins returns in Evening Street, a gripping thriller from Pulitzer-Prize winning author Julia Keller. P
erfect for fans of Dennis Lehane and Linwood Barclay.

‘A beautiful writer’ – Michael Connelly

Attorney Bell Elkins’ days are taken up by the high-profile cases that she prosecutes in Raythune County, West Virginia, a region scarred by poverty and prescription drug abuse. But her nights are very different.

Volunteering at an auxiliary intensive care unit where nurses deal with the youngest and most vulnerable victims of drug abuse – children born to mothers addicted to painkillers – is not for the faint-hearted but Bell feels a desperate need to help. Rocking ailing infants to sleep at the Evening Street care facility, she provides what medical science – for all of its marvels – cannot: a simple human touch.

One terrifying night, though, a distraught father breaks in and holds the staff and Bell hostage, demanding a reckoning for a family grudge. The drama quickly escalates toward a lethal flashpoint. At the centre of it all is a baby, only hours old. Can Bell ensure that he, indeed that all of the babies, survive the night?

What readers are saying about the Bell Elkins novels:

‘Keller’s style of writing is poetic and dramatic. It is incredibly unusual. She seamlessly weaves the story-lines together’

‘Keller astounds me with her characterization, beautiful descriptions and absorbing plots’

Interesting plots and wonderful, rich character development. Bell Elkins is an unforgettable character’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

On Sale: 19th November 2015

Price: £0.99

ISBN-13: 9781472215710

Reviews

Praise for Julia Keller: A rare talent and a must read
Karin Slaughter
A gripping, beautifully crafted murder-mystery
Scott Turow
Be careful opening this book because once you do you won't be able to close it. A killer novel
Tom Franklin
A beautiful writer
Michael Connelly