We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A gripping and thrilling novel of the courageous Black women who made history in World War Two.

Inspired by true events, and perfect for fans of Kate Quinn’s The Alice Network and Hidden Figures.

‘Poignant and powerful; an untold story that you simply must read’ NATASHA LESTER

Based on the true story of the 6888th Postal Battalion (the Six Triple Eight), Sisters in Arms explores the untold story of what life was like for the only all-Black, female US battalion to be deployed overseas during World War Two.


‘Heartwarming but fierce, a novel brimming with camaraderie and fire, starring women you’d love to make your friends’ KATE QUINN

‘A beautifully written love song to the brave, oft forgotten Black women who courageously stepped up to serve their country’ FARRAH ROCHON


‘The story of these brave female soldiers will have you rooting for them with the turn of every page and brimming with pride. A triumph!’ KWANA JACKSON


They were fighting for freedom everywhere. But the first battle they had to win was at home.

Grace Steele and Eliza Jones make history when they join the Women’s Army Auxiliary Corps, and form the 6888th Central Postal Directory Battalion. Not only are they among the first class of female officers the army has ever seen, they are also the first Black women allowed to serve.

Everyone is determined to see this experiment fail and learning to navigate their way through the segregated army is tougher than boot camp. Grace and Eliza may be from completely different backgrounds but they both recognise that to succeed they must be more perfect than everyone else: there is no room for error.

They know that what lies overseas in England and France could cause them great personal cost, but nothing is going to stop these courageous women from playing their parts for the country they love.


‘Well written, good characters that I loved and emotions that were up and down constantly. I didn’t want it to end’ 5* reader review