We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

‘Spectacular’ Gillian Flynn. SEVEN FOR A SECRET is the captivating second novel in Lyndsay Faye’s Edgar Award-nominated series, for fans of Andrew Taylor and Antonia Hodgson’s The Devil in the Marshalsea.

1846: KIDNAP, MURDER, LOVE AND BETRAYAL ON THE LAWLESS STREETS OF NEW YORK.

Timothy Wilde, copper star in the newly formed NYPD, thinks himself hardened to the darker practices of the city he’s grown up in. That is, until he encounters the ‘blackbirders’, slave-catchers with a right to seize runaways from the Southern states.

When a woman reports her family has been stolen, Timothy and his wayward brother Valentine find themselves plunged into an underworld of violence and deceit, where police are complicit and politics savage. If he’s to protect all those he cares about, Timothy must unravel the corruption at the heart of the authority he was hired to defend…

Reviews

Praise for THE GODS OF GOTHAM: 'A wonderful book. Lyndsay Faye's command of historical detail is remarkable and her knowledge of human character even more so. I bought into this world and never once had the desire to leave'
Michael Connelly
'Executed with brio and packed with pungent historical detail...this is a cracking yarn'
Daily Mail
'The Gods of Gotham succeeds on many levels: as a colourful, crackling evocation of an underworld packed with desperados; as an unflinching glance into the history of some of New York's shadiest and most shameful corners; and as a cleverly crafted crime story with a central character who deserves a new case, and another book'
Metro
'The dangerous underworld of New York in the mid-nineteenth century... wonderfully vivid and vigorous'
The Sunday Times
'This is special...The historical detail is impressive in a character-driven tale spotted with an underground language called Flash, which is fascinating. Stunning... highly recommended'
Sarah Broadhurst, 'Ones to Watch' Paperback Preview, Bookseller
'The slums of 19th-century New York... [a] rollicking historical novel...with vibrant characters'
New York Times