Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Blood of Kings (Tintagel Book I)

The Blood of Kings (Tintagel Book I)

Honour, ambition and greed determine the fate of Roman Britain…

Flavius Magnus Maximus has cast his eyes on the throne of the Emperor of Rome and nothing will stand in his way… The Blood of Kings, part one of the Tintagel trilogy, is the perfect read for fans of George R.R. Martin and Simon Scarrow.

‘Hume deftly navigates the Arthurian legends, populating them with likable and despicable characters, and casting them in a fully realized historical setting’ – Publishers Weekly

The fate of Roman Britain is sealed when Caradoc, King of the Dumnonii tribe in Tintagel, meets Flavius Magnus Maximus, one of the most influential Roman officers in Britannia. Their unlikely friendship leads to an ambitious plan to unite the tribal leaders and, once crowned the first High King of the Britons, Maximus casts his eyes on the throne of the Western Roman Empire.

Leading a force of brave warriors to Gaul, Maximus is victorious in battle. But it is not long after his return to Britain that hubris gnaws at him once again. Despite Caradoc’s pleas to exercise caution, Maximus is determined to march on Rome itself. But who will pay the price for his bloodthirsty quest for power?

What readers are saying about The Blood of Kings:

‘A gripping story with bloody battles and with great interaction, brought to us in a most exciting fashion

‘M.K. Hume brings not only her characters to life but also the sights and sounds of battle

Well written, has cracking prose and of course a storyline that is hard to put down
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Myth & Legend Told As Fiction

On Sale: 18th June 2015

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472215772

Reviews

Hume deftly navigates the Arthurian legends, populating them with likable and despicable characters, and casting them in a fully realized historical setting
Publishers Weekly
Historical fiction of the most bloodthirsty and roistering kind
Australian Bookseller & Publishers Magazine
Exciting, violent and bloody... Up there with Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell
www.lovereading.co.uk
It's a slice of history that's totally, utterly believable. Magnificent
www.booksmonthly.co.uk
Hume brings the bloody, violent, conniving world vividly to life...will appeal to those who thrill to Game of Thrones and other tales of intersecting, ever-warring, noble lineages
Kirkus Review