Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Poisoned Throne (Tintagel Book II)

The Poisoned Throne (Tintagel Book II)

Is the throne of Britannia a coveted prize or an evil curse?

Poisoned by greed and jealous, Constantinus’ thirst for greatness will cost him dear… The Poisoned Throne, part two of the Tintagel trilogy is sure to appeal to fans of Paul Bannister and Game of Thrones.

‘It’s a slice of history that’s totally, utterly believable. Magnificent’ – http://www.booksmonthly.co.uk

A decade has passed since the death of Caradoc, King of the Dumnonii tribe, and his friend, Flavius Magnus Maximus. Britain is battered by Pict invaders, and centurion Constantinus and his legionnaires are fighting them to the death.

Maximus’s daughter, Lady Severa, holds the key to the throne of the High King of the Britons and when she is threatened with abduction, Constantinus escorts her to the safety of Tintagel. Agreeing to marry her, he is crowned the High King, and Severa bears him two sons, Ambrosius and Uther. But, as the ruler of Britain, Constantinus is poisoned by greed and jealousy, and his thirst for greatness in the Roman Empire will cost him dear…

What readers are saying about The Poisoned Throne:

‘A stunning story, well written and full of very interesting historical facts. Love it

Good character drawing, excellent battle scenes and plenty of intrigue

Left me wanting more! A very good read, very well written
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Myth & Legend Told As Fiction

On Sale: 31st December 2015

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472215819

Reviews

Hume deftly navigates the Arthurian legends, populating them with likable and despicable characters, and casting them in a fully realized historical setting
Publishers Weekly
Hume brings the bloody, violent, conniving world vividly to life...will appeal to those who thrill to Game of Thrones and other tales of intersecting, ever-warring, noble lineages
Kirkus Review
Historical fiction of the most bloodthirsty and roistering kind
Australian Bookseller & Publishers Magazine
Exciting, violent and bloody... Up there with Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell
www.lovereading.co.uk
It's a slice of history that's totally, utterly believable. Magnificent
www.booksmonthly.co.uk