Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Forgotten Laughter

Forgotten Laughter

An unexpected visitor brings back haunting memories…

Set against the magnificent beauty of Dartmoor, Marcia Willett’s spellbinding novel is a tale of a complicated mother-daughter relationship, strengthened by unforgettable events and a visitor with an excess of baggage. Forgotten Laughter is the perfect read for fans of Liz Fenwick and Harriet Evans.

‘Her descriptions of Devon’s natural beauty are vividly woven into her tale of human strengths and frailties… She understands her people well and handles them with sympathy’ – North Devon Journal

When Brigid Foster’s elderly mother Frummie comes to stay with her at her idyllic Devonian hideaway – Foxhole – Brigid feels it’s a hideaway no longer. There has always been tension between the two women, caused by Brigid’s opinion that Frummie has always favoured her sister Jemima over her. But when two murders occur nearby, both of women on their own, Brigid and Frummie are drawn together; especially when a visitor appears who seems to be hiding a terrible secret…

What readers are saying about Forgotten Laughter:

‘Set in the beautiful Devon countryside, the story completely draws you in – you will not want to put this down

‘A lovely book which had me enthralled

Five stars – Marcia Willett always has me gripped from beginning to end
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

On Sale: 12th May 2011

Price: £5.49

ISBN-13: 9780755386949

Reviews

Praise for Marcia Willett's previous novels: 'A fascinating study of character...a cleverly woven story
Publishing News
Poignantly told, with fine characterisation and a lavish sprinkling of humour
Evening Herald
This excellent first novel...is a rounded portrait of modern family life where light-hearted affection and friendship contrasts with the darker strands of human nature
Dartmouth Chronicle
A delight from start to finish
Kingsbridge Gazette
A must for women fiction readers
Booklist