We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

It’s never too late to start over…

Marcia Willett’s Starting Over is an exhilarating and warm-hearted novel of family love and coming to terms with the direction life has taken. The perfect read for fans of Fern Britton and Hilary Boyd.

When recently-widowed Annie’s god-daughter Pippa is abandoned by her husband, she insists that she comes to live with her. Frances and Stephen Ankerton are desperately worried about their son, Hugh, who wrongly blames himself for a fatal accident that took place nearly a year ago. While Frances turns to Annie for advice, Stephen finds a way to set Hugh’s mind at rest…

When Max Driver inherits some land on Dartmoor his dream becomes a reality. And a chance encounter with Frances leads to each and every one of them being touched by his warmth and enthusiasm. Soon he is an integral part of their lives and his determination to fulfil his own goal inspires the others to start over again.

What readers are saying about Starting Over:

‘So very real with wonderful characters and charming story lines

Her descriptions of Devon are spot on

Marcia Willett never disappoints – as usual it kept me engrossed from beginning to end’

Reviews

Praise for Marcia Willett's previous novels: 'A fascinating study of character...a cleverly woven story
Publishing News
Poignantly told, with fine characterisation and a lavish sprinkling of humour
Evening Herald
This excellent first novel...is a rounded portrait of modern family life where light-hearted affection and friendship contrasts with the darker strands of human nature
Dartmouth Chronicle
A delight from start to finish
Kingsbridge Gazette
A must for women fiction readers
Booklist