Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Thea's Parrot

Thea's Parrot

An ‘old friend’ changes everything…

Thea’s Parrot is an entertaining standalone tale of marriage and lies with some familiar faces from Marcia Willett’s debut Those Who Serve. The perfect read for fans of Veronica Henry and Fern Britton.

George Lampeter certainly isn’t looking for a wife but as soon as the forty-three-year-old submarine commander sets eyes on Thea, twenty years his junior, he’s found his partner for life. Just about everyone knows of George’s long-standing affair with Felicity Mainwaring, the intimidating wife of a naval colleague. Her husband’s death the previous year had prompted many to speculate that George would end up marrying his formidable mistress. No one expected it more than Felicity herself and as her letters and calls to George go unanswered she becomes suspicious.

He somehow manages to duck Felicity’s attempts to contact him long enough to marry Thea, and the couple embark on a harmonious life together in the heart of rural Devon. Thea enjoys matrimony immensely and through the naval network, finds a soul mate in Polly, another youthful bride, but not with such an understanding husband. But everything changes for Thea and George when she mentions that an old friend of his had dropped in for a chat while he was in London – Felicity Mainwaring.

What readers are saying about Thea’s Parrot:

Intelligently written and nicely plotted with enough twists and good characters to keep you moving through it’

‘Thoroughly fantastic. The twists and turns were remarkable’

I was left wanting more
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

On Sale: 10th November 2011

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755390694

Reviews

Praise for Marcia Willett's previous novels: 'A fascinating study of character...a cleverly woven story
Publishing News
Poignantly told, with fine characterisation and a lavish sprinkling of humour
Evening Herald
This excellent first novel...is a rounded portrait of modern family life where light-hearted affection and friendship contrasts with the darker strands of human nature
Dartmouth Chronicle
A delight from start to finish
Kingsbridge Gazette
A must for women fiction readers
Booklist