Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Those Who Serve

Those Who Serve

It had all seemed so exciting and romantic…

Marcia Willett’s fascinating and moving debut Those Who Serve, set in the 1960s, is a tale of the ups and downs of Navy life and of being a Navy wife. The perfect read for fans of Harriet Evans and Katie Fforde.

Not even out of their teens, Kate and Cass, friends since boarding school, both marrying dashing naval officers within weeks of each other. But after all the glamour of naval balls and white weddings, passing beneath the arches of naval swords had not led Kate down the pathway to marital bliss. Not even her cherished twins can compensate for her husband’s coldness and mental cruelty and she yearns for the peace of her beloved West Country.

Cass, on the other hand, revels in the freedom of movement her husband’s long absences on the submarines provide – even with the arrival of the first of her four children, she is not to be denied the frenzied activity of the 1960s sexual revolution! But it is a dangerous game that Cass is playing, and as the decades roll by, Kate may not always be around to pick up the pieces…

What readers are saying about Those Who Serve:

‘Absolutely beautifully written. Emotional rollercoaster from start to finish’

‘A delight, well written and great human insight

‘Wonderful believable characters
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

On Sale: 10th November 2011

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755390700

Reviews

Praise for Marcia Willett's previous novels: 'A fascinating study of character...a cleverly woven story
Publishing News
Poignantly told, with fine characterisation and a lavish sprinkling of humour
Evening Herald
This excellent first novel...is a rounded portrait of modern family life where light-hearted affection and friendship contrasts with the darker strands of human nature
Dartmouth Chronicle
A delight from start to finish
Kingsbridge Gazette
A must for women fiction readers
Booklist