Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Every Exquisite Thing

Every Exquisite Thing

From Matthew Quick, bestselling author of THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK, comes EVERY EXQUISITE THING, a quirky and deeply moving novel about a teen’s journey through love, rebellion and belonging. For readers who love John Green and Rainbow Rowell.

‘Books like Quick’s are necessary’ New York Times

Nanette O’Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the role of dutiful daughter, hard-working student, and star athlete for as long as she can remember. But when a beloved teacher gives her his worn copy of The Bubblegum Reaper – the mysterious, out-of-print cult-classic – the rebel within Nanette awakens.

As she befriends the reclusive author, falls in love with a young but troubled poet, and attempts to insert her true self into the world with wild abandon, Nanette learns the hard way that sometimes rebellion comes at a high price.

A celebration of the self and the formidable power of story, Every Exquisite Thing is Matthew Quick at his finest.
Read More

Genre: Children's, Teenage & Educational / Children's / Teenage Fiction & True Stories

On Sale: 9th February 2017

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472229571

Reviews

Simply exquisite...captivating...touching and relatable...a wonderful heroine...Quick's latest is amazing
Winnipeg Free Press
Quick's nuanced story of rebellion and its cost will appeal to fans of Stephen Chbosky and John Green
School Library Journal
Original, compelling, uplifting. Quick celebrates the power of ordinary, flawed human beings to rescue themselves and each other. His writing is shot through with wit and humanity and an ultimately optimistic view of people, without ever becoming sentimental
Graeme Simsion, author of THE ROSIE PROJECT
Books like Quick's are necessary
New York Times
A very real and affecting story
Graeme Simsion
A strong, well-written female protagonist sets this coming-of-age novel apart
Kirkus
A shrewd reconfiguring of the American Dream, in which freedom opens the door not to monetary riches but to self-discovery
Financial Times
Quick continues to excel at writing thought-provoking stories about nonconformity... [he] paints a compelling portrait of a sympathetic teenager going through the trial-and-error process of growing up.
Publishers Weekly
Quick creates beautifully well-rounded characters, particularly Nanette, whose first-person narrative, rich with wry observations and a kaleidoscope of meaningful emotions, offers great insight into the mind of a teen on a sometimes sluggish, spiraling path toward sorting herself out
Booklist
Transfixed me from the opening line to the last
Annabel Pitcher
All of the elements of this novel work together to make this an outstanding coming-of-age story
Voya