We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.


‘The funniest man in Britain has written a wonderful novel. Rejoice!’ – Richard Osman

‘Very funny set pieces and one-liners’ – Daily Mail


Clive Hapgood is feeling stuck.

The private school he teaches at is consuming his life, no thanks to wretched headteacher Julian Crouch. The gentle country life Clive envisaged has stifled him and left his marriage on the brink. What he needs is a holiday – something to remind him and Helen what life used to be like. But when things don’t go to plan, and an incident at school begins to weigh heavy on his head, Clive’s life starts to unravel in front of him. Has he got it in him to turn things around, whatever the cost? After all, it’s his own time he’s wasting…

Wonderfully funny and often moving, this brilliant novel by star of The Durrells and Would I Lie To You? is set to be the stand-out book of the summer.

‘Very funny’ – Metro

‘Well-observed . . . [Jupp] has fun skewering the absurdities of public-school life’ – Mail on Sunday

‘A sensitive and insightful depiction of a midlife crisis, while simultaneously extracting every last ounce of comedy and farce from Clive’s situation . . . Jupp writes in the wonderfully wry, deadpan style comic style that his fans will recognise from his TV and radio appearance’ – Sunday Express

For readers of Jonathan Coe, Mark Watson, Michael Frayn and David Nicholls.

Reviews

The funniest man in Britain has written a wonderful novel. Rejoice!
Richard Osman
Well-observed . . . [Jupp] has fun skewering the absurdities of public-school life
Mail on Sunday
Very funny
Metro
Very funny set pieces and one-liners
Daily Mail
A sensitive and insightful depiction of a midlife crisis, while simultaneously extracting every last ounce of comedy and farce from Clive's situation . . . Jupp writes in the wonderfully wry, deadpan style comic style that his fans will recognise from his TV and radio appearances.
Sunday Express