We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

*An Evening Standard Must Read for 2021*
‘A wonderful book, both tender and wise’ Okechukwu Nzelu
‘Beautifully written, this is a book of real hope and connection’ Stylist
From the acclaimed author of ESCAPE ROUTES, a bittersweet story of coming-of-age in a divided world, in the tradition of TIN MAN or BLACK SWAN GREEN.

It’s a lonely life for Stan, at a new school that feels more ordeal than fresh start, and at home where he and his mother struggle to break the silence after his father’s death. When he encounters fearless, clever Charlie on the local common, all of that begins to change. Charlie’s curiosity is infectious, and it is Charlie who teaches Stan, for the first time, to stand on his own two feet. But will their unit of two be strong enough to endure in a world that offers these boys such different prospects?

The pair part ways, until their paths cross once again, as adults in London. Now Stan is revelling in all that the city has to offer, while Charlie seems to have hit a brick wall. He needs Stan’s help, and above all his friendship, but is Stan really there for the man who once showed him the meaning of loyalty?

Reviews

An attentive and considered tribute to friendship, reminding us that, for all our human messiness, to have a friend is to enter an enduring pact to face the world together
Ronan Hession, author of LEONARD AND HUNGRY PAUL
Tender but never sentimental, COMMON GROUND is a glorious novel about friendship, prejudice and injustice, which exposes the common threads that bind us together
Gemma Reeves, author of VICTORIA PARK
Long after finishing, Charlie and Stan refuse to be forgotten. I couldn't put this one down
Molly Aitken, author of THE ISLAND CHILD
A heartfelt, moving depiction of growing up in a complex world together. A joy to read
Nick Bradley, author of THE CAT AND THE CITY