We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Sweetness of Water

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781472274403

Price: £19.99

ON SALE: 15th June 2021

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

What price do we pay for freedom?

‘Better than any debut novel has a right to be’ Richard Russo

For readers of WASHINGTON BLACK, THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD and DAYS WITHOUT END.

In the dying days of the American Civil War, newly freed brothers Landry and Prentiss find themselves cast into the world without a penny to their names. Forced to hide out in the woods near their former Georgia plantation, they’re soon discovered by the land’s owner, George Walker, a man still reeling from the loss of his son in the war.

When the brothers begin to live and work on George’s farm, the tentative bonds of trust and union begin to blossom between the strangers. But this sanctuary survives on a knife’s edge, and it isn’t long before the inhabitants of the nearby town of Old Ox react with fury at the alliances being formed only a few miles away.

Conjuring a world fraught by tragedy and violence yet threaded through with hope, THE SWEETNESS OF WATER is a debut novel unique in its power to move and enthral.

(P)2021 Hachette Audio

Reviews

What a gifted, assured writer Nathan Harris is. He does what all novelists are supposed to do-give birth to vivid characters, people worth caring about, and then get out of their way. The result is better than any debut novel has a right to be. With The Sweetness of Water, Harris has, in a sense, unwritten Gone With the Wind, detonating its phony romanticism, its unearned sympathies, its wretched racism
Richard Russo
To open Nathan Harris's first novel is to enter a trance. I can't think of any other book out there quite like it. The richness of his language and the exquisite details of the lives he creates produce a kind of waking dream, equally lyrical and threatening
Luis Alberto Urrea
Harris' lucid prose and vivid characterization illustrate a community at war with itself, poisoned by pride and mired in racial and sexual bigotry. . . Harris' first novel is an aching chronicle of loss, cruelty, and love in the wake of community devastation
Booklist, starred review
[An] ambitious debut . . . Harris writes in intelligent, down-to-earth prose and shows a keen understanding of his characters . . . Credible and deeply moving
Publishers Weekly, starred review
An impressive debut by a storyteller with bountiful insight and assurance
Kirkus
[The book's] grave beauty is evident immediately
Library Journal
This stunning debut novel probes the limits of freedom in a society where ingrained prejudice and inequality remain the law of the land
Oprah Daily