Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Love, Unscripted

Love, Unscripted

‘Sometimes a book comes along and it feels dusted with magic – Love, Unscripted is one of those books’ Josie Silver

‘A complete delight’ Holly Bourne

Love, Unscripted follows film projectionist Nick as he tries to understand the difference between love on the big screen and love in real life. Owen Nicholls is perfect for fans of romcoms, David Nicholls and Nick Hornby.

For film projectionist Nick, love should mirror what he sees on the big screen. And when he falls for Ellie on the eve of the 2008 presidential election, it finally does.

For four blissful years, Nick loved Ellie as much as he loved his job splicing film reels together in the local cinema. Life seemed… picture-perfect.

But now it’s 2012, Ellie has moved out and Nick’s trying to figure out where it all went wrong.

With Ellie gone and his life far from the happy ending he imagined, Nick wonders if their romance could ever again be as perfect as the night they met.

Can love really be as it is in the movies?

Readers love Owen Nicholls . . .

‘An unmissable, multi-layered readWoman & Home

‘A fun, entertaining story with bags of heart – the book equivalent of a classic rom-com’ CultureFly

A nostalgic read for fans of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls . . . [a] smart funny novelHeat

‘A refreshing take on the typical boy-meets-girl romance . . . an unmissable read’ Woman’s Weekly

Cute romcom full of cinematic references’ The Sun (Fabulous Magazine)

A gorgeous romcom filled with movie references and Obama-era nostalgia’ Kate Davies, author of In At The Deep End

An astutely observed romantic comedy that had me shaking with laughter and sniffing away tears. Pure pleasure.’ Empire Magazine

‘Smartly observed romcom . . . bursting with some very cute cultural referencesSunday Mirror

The perfect read for film enthusiasts’ Woman Magazine

Charming read’ Woman’s Way

This is one of the best books I have ever read. If When Harry Met Sally and High Fidelity had a book baby, this would be it’ Emma Cooper, author of The Songs of Us

High Fidelity for the multiplex generation. Owen Nicholls makes it look easy but it’s a smart and funny book, laced with wisdom. A lovely, warm, engaging read.’ Richard Lumsden, author of The Six Loves of Billy Binns

A properly funny, clever, bittersweet romcom‘ Richard Roper, author of Something to Live For

One of the most realistic love stories I have read‘ Michelle Elman, author of Am I Ugly?
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Romance / Adult & Contemporary Romance

On Sale: 22nd August 2019

Price: £18.99

ISBN-13: 9781472263155

Reviews

High Fidelity with celluloid replacing vinyl - an astutely observed romantic comedy that had me shaking with laughter and sniffing away tears. Pure pleasure.
Nev Pierce, Contributing Editor EMPIRE Magazine
This is one of the best books I have ever read. If When Harry Met Sally and High Fidelity had a book baby, this would be it
Emma Cooper, author of The Songs of Us
A nostalgic read for fans of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls . . . Expect plenty of film references as Nick tries to work out where it all went wrong - and if it can ever go right . . . [a] smart, funny novel
Heat magazine
Couldn't put it down!
Take A Break
Cute romcom full of cinematic references
The Sun, Fabulous Magazine
A properly funny, clever, bittersweet romcom
Richard Roper, author of Something To Live For
A fun, entertaining story with bags of heart - the book equivalent of a classic rom-com
CultureFly
A refreshing take on the typical boy-meets-girl romance . . . an unmissable read
Woman's Weekly
The perfect read for film enthusiasts
Woman magazine
One of the most realistic love stories I have read
Michelle Elman, author of Am I Ugly?
High Fidelity for the multiplex generation. Owen Nicholls makes it look easy but it's a smart and funny book, laced with wisdom. A lovely, warm, engaging read.
Richard Lumsden, author of The Six Loves of Billy Binns
A gorgeous romcom filled with movie references and Obama-era nostalgia
Kate Davies, author of In At The Deep End
Smartly observed romcom . . . bursting with some very cute cultural references'
Sunday Mirror
A complete delight for film lovers (and lovers of love)
Holly Bourne
Sometimes a book comes along and it feels dusted with magic - Love, Unscripted is one of those books. Nostalgic, tender and achingly cool, it has the same understated beauty as a John Cusack movie. A love letter to the silver screen and to all of the iconic romantic comedies - it's book treasure, my new favourite.
Josie Silver, author of One Day in December
An unmissable, multi-layered read
Woman & Home
This will tug at your heart strings
Best Magazine
Charming read
Woman's Way