We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A murderer lurks among a group of friends…

Paul Doherty relates the Clerk of Oxford’s tale in A Haunt of Murder – a tale of mystery and murder as he goes on pilgrimage from London to Canterbury. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Susanna Gregory.


As the sun sets, Chaucer’s pilgrims find themselves lost in a Kent forest rumoured to be haunted. Huddled around the fire, trying to ignore the cries of screech owls and other, more frightening sounds of the night, the Clerk of Oxford agrees to tell a ghostly tale of love and death that will chill the blood.

It’s 1381 and Beatrice Arrowner is on her way to Ravenscroft Castle on the outskirts of Maldon. Beatrice is meeting clerk Ralph Mortimer for a feast on the green. Nothing can dampen Beatrice’s mood as she and Ralph gather with their friends. But the sinister events of the last few days soon cast a cloud over the festivities. Phoebe, a castle maid, has been horribly murdered. Soon there is another death and it seems that the evil spirits which haunt the Midnight Tower are doing their worst.

Certain there is a connection between these events and his own search for the legendary Brythnoth’s jewelled cross, Ralph knows that this own life is in danger and that the murderer must be one of his close friends. But he can only hunt down the killer with the help of Beatrice – who learns that death is not necessarily the end of existence…

What readers are saying about the Canterbury Tales Mysteries:
‘An intriguing tale which keeps one entertained up to the last page’
Spellbinding
‘I found it a brilliant, mystifying tale and was hooked from beginning to end’

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: The maestro of medieval mystery... As with all Doherty's historical whodunnits, it is packed with salty dialogue, the smells and superstitions of the 14th century, not to mention the political intrigues
Books Magazine
Doherty's deep understanding of the period and the nitty-gritty of historical detail are to the fore without intruding on the rhythm of the plot. Superb entertainment
Historical Novels Review
Paul Doherty has come up trumps again with this medieval mystery
Newcastle Evening Chronicle
A masterpiece of murder and mystery
Northern Echo
The best of its kind since the death of Ellis Peters
Time Out
An engrossing and informative read
Publishers Weekly
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history... evocative and lyrical descriptions
New Statesman
As always the author invokes the medieval period in all its muck as well as glory, filling the pages with pungent smells and description. The author brings years of research to his writing; his mastery of the period as well as a disciplined writing schedule have led to a rapidly increasing body of work and a growing reputation
Mystery News
For those who are keen enthusiasts of medieval murder stories the name Paul Doherty will need no introduction... He writes with enthusiasm about an era he knows well
SHOTS Magazine