We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Alexander must fight for his throne, his father… and his life.

Paul Doherty transports his readers to Ancient Greece in A Murder in Macedon – a gripping mystery featuring Alexander the Great. Perfect for fans of Gary Corby and Margaret Doody.


‘If you want to know whodunit in ancient times, Doherty is your man’ – Good Book Guide

In the summer of 336 BC, Philip of Macedon is to celebrate his glorious reign. He has waded through a sea of blood to become master of Greece, but he also has troubles at home. He has divorced and rejected his first wife, the witch queen Olympias, while her son Alexander is the subject of a whispering campaign that he is not Philip’s true heir. Philip summons all of Greece to attend his great celebration in the old capital of Aegae, but the Macedonian court is plunged into chaos and bloodshed when he is murdered by Pausanias. Alexander must fight for his rights against intrigue and treachery at home and abroad. In order to prove his own innocence, he also has to find out who was really responsible for Philip’s death and why. Was Pausanias a lone assassin or acting on behalf of others?

What readers are saying about A Murder in Macedon:
‘A very enthralling story’
‘An interesting twist
‘Paul Doherty – brilliant – nothing more to say’

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: Paul Doherty has created a vivid, credible picture of life in the Persian and Macedonian courts on the eve of Alexander's conquests
The Times
The combination of legendary historical figures and an old-fashioned murder mystery proves irresistible in Paul Doherty's vivid new interpretation of the exploits of Alexander the Great
Yorkshire Evening Post
[Paul Doherty's] Alexander is a loyal friend and likeable rogue intent on gambling everything to achieve his dreams of world conquest
Times Literary Supplement
Doherty, a true master of the historical mystery, provides another superbly crafted whodunit that will keep readers guessing until the stunning climax
Booklist
If you want to know whodunnit in ancient times, Doherty is your man
Good Book Guide