We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A phantom horseman. A murdered abbot. A locked door.

Paul Doherty weaves an intricately plotted mystery in Corpse Candle, in which Sir Hugh’s powers of deduction are tested by one of his most puzzling cases. Perfect for fans of Susanna Gregory and Michael Jecks.


‘Paul Doherty has captured the atmosphere of an enclosed community where there is nowhere to hide from an assassin who appears not to have a motive. Well written… A thumping good read’ – South Wales Argus

The Brothers of the abbey of St Martin’s-in-the-Marsh usually pay little heed to the tales of robber baron Sir Geoffrey Mandeville’s ghost galloping through the Lincolnshire fens with a retinue of ghastly horsemen. They may hear the shrill blast of a phantom hunting horn, or see the corpse candles glowing in the dark, but none really accepts the peasants’ belief that these flickering lights can forewarn men of their own deaths. The monks are protected by the monastery’s high wall and their powerful abbot – a friend of King Edward I – and, although their leaders sometimes argue over the abbey’s future, their lives are peaceful and comfortable. But then Abbot Stephen is found murdered in his chamber, with the door and windows locked from the inside, and Sir Hugh Corbett, Keeper of the King’s Seal, arrives to investigate.

What readers are saying about Corpse Candle:
‘This book [has] elegance, history and mystery that will make you scared but wanting to turn the page’
Intrigue is maintained throughout with interesting twists
‘Another excellent book that just could not be put down!

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: Paul Doherty has captured the atmosphere of an enclosed community where there is nowhere to hide from an assassin who appears not to have a motive. Well written... A thumping good read
South Wales Argus
Paul Doherty has come up trumps again with this medieval mystery
Newcastle Evening Chronicle
The maestro of medieval mystery... As with all Doherty's historical whodunnits, it is packed with salty dialogue, the smells and superstitions of the 14th century, not to mention the political intrigues
Books Magazine
Doherty's deep understanding of the period and the nitty-gritty of historical detail are to the fore without intruding on the rhythm of the plot. Superb entertainment
Historical Novels Review
A masterpiece of murder and mystery
Northern Echo
The best of its kind since the death of Ellis Peters
Time Out
Medieval London comes vividly to life
Publishers Weekly
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history... evocative and lyrical descriptions
New Statesman
Vitality in the cityscape... angst in the mystery; it's Peters minus the herbs but plus a few crates of sack
Oxford Times
As always the author invokes the medieval period in all its muck as well as glory, filling the pages with pungent smells and description. The author brings years of research to his writing; his mastery of the period as well as a disciplined writing schedule have led to a rapidly increasing body of work and a growing reputation
Mystery News