We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

One woman’s thirst for power changes history forever…

Domina is a dramatic historical novel about the turbulent life and death of Agrippina, Empress of Rome, from the master of historical fiction, Paul Doherty. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Davis and Steven Saylor.


Agrippina – mother of Nero, wife of Claudius – has no choice but to fight with her wits to stay alive. Emerging victorious in the secretive plot to end the reign of Tiberius, she also proves to be a formidable opponent to her insane and cruel brother, Caligula. But as she rises to power as the wife of Claudius, her one weakness becomes apparent: her ambitious love for her son, Nero.
In the treacherous arena of Ancient Rome, Agrippina knows that each player must fight to survive – or die. And be prepared to sacrifice anything or anyone…

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
‘This story is thrilling stuff… a really entertaining novel’
Brings history to life
Five stars

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: The master of historical whodunit
Booklist
If you want to know whodunnit in ancient times, Doherty is your man
Good Book Guide
An engrossing and informative read
Publishers Weekly
Paul Doherty weaves an intricate story with clues littered among the pages
Historical Novels Review
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history
New Statesman
A masterpiece of murder and mystery
Northern Echo
Doherty's scholarly historical knowledge lays a firm foundation for his ingenious plots, and adds greatly to the enjoyment of the novel
Yorkshire Evening Post