We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

To escape an evil curse, a terrible price must be paid…
Paul Doherty relates the Priest’s tale in Ghostly Murders – a tale of mystery and murder as he goes on pilgrimage from London to Canterbury. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Susanna Gregory.
As Chaucer’s pilgrims shelter in the ruins of a church, the poor Priest narrates his mysterious tale.
Young Philip Trumpington, the new Scawsby parish priest, finds that the old church harbours shocking secrets. Years earlier, some Templars were massacred on the marshes, their attackers led by Romenal, a former Scawsby vicar. Philip discovers the old church is haunted by ‘The Watchers’ and the villagers are scarred by a terrible curse. An ancient evil must be resolved and reparation made. But the price will be great…
What readers are saying about Canterbury Tales Mysteries:
‘I found it a brilliant, mystifying tale and was hooked from beginning to end’
‘Mr Doherty excels himself with this spine chilling medieval ghost story’
Spellbinding

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: The maestro of medieval mystery... As with all Doherty's historical whodunnits, it is packed with salty dialogue, the smells and superstitions of the 14th century, not to mention the political intrigues
Books Magazine
Doherty's deep understanding of the period and the nitty-gritty of historical detail are to the fore without intruding on the rhythm of the plot. Superb entertainment
Historical Novels Review
Paul Doherty has come up trumps again with this medieval mystery
Newcastle Evening Chronicle
A masterpiece of murder and mystery
Northern Echo
The best of its kind since the death of Ellis Peters
Time Out
An engrossing and informative read
Publishers Weekly
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history... evocative and lyrical descriptions
New Statesman
As always the author invokes the medieval period in all its muck as well as glory, filling the pages with pungent smells and description. The author brings years of research to his writing; his mastery of the period as well as a disciplined writing schedule have led to a rapidly increasing body of work and a growing reputation
Mystery News
For those who are keen enthusiasts of medieval murder stories the name Paul Doherty will need no introduction... He writes with enthusiasm about an era he knows well
SHOTS Magazine