Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

In Time of the Poisoned Queen (Nicholas Segalla series, Book 4)

In Time of the Poisoned Queen (Nicholas Segalla series, Book 4)

With so many enemies, how will Nicholas Segalla unravel the web of mysteries?

Nicholas Segalla visits Tudor England once again in Paul Doherty’s gripping mystery, In the Time of the Poisoned Queen. Perfect for fans of Susanna Gregory and C. J. Sansom.


1558 was a year of sinister and bloody conspiracy in England. Deserted by her husband, Philip of Spain, Queen Mary faces an ever-tightening circle of conspiracy and deceit. Rumours and whispers abound that she, like her first minister Reginald Cardinal Pole, is being slowly murdered by a subtle poison. There are many who would benefit from Mary’s death: Catherine de’ Medici, Queen of France and ‘Mistress of the Poisons’; beautiful Mary, Queen of Scots, heiress presumptive to the throne in the eyes of English Catholics; Pope Paul IV surveys the silken threads of treachery from his perch in Rome; and the Queen’s own half-sister, Elizabeth, who takes council from her ‘little wizard’ William Cecil. Who is behind the letters signed by the ‘Four Evangelists’? What is the secret concealed in the phrase ‘Mark 15.34’? What does a verse from the Gospels predict about the future succession of England? Nicholas Segalla, a mysterious scholar and diplomat, must thread his way through this web of Byzantine intrigue.

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
‘A cracker, full of twists and turns, with an overarching mystery of who exactly is Segalla’
‘Paul Doherty’s books are a joy to read
The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty’s] books’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 11th June 2013

Price: £4.99

ISBN-13: 9780755395712

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: The best of its kind since the death of Ellis Peters
Time Out
Paul Doherty weaves an intricate story with clues littered among the pages
Historical Novels Review
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history
New Statesman
A masterpiece of murder and mystery
Northern Echo
The master of historical whodunit
Booklist
Doherty's scholarly historical knowledge lays a firm foundation for his ingenious plots, and adds greatly to the enjoyment of the novel
Yorkshire Evening Post