We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Has a notorious murderer returned to the streets of Ancient Rome?

In the fourth novel in Paul Doherty’s acclaimed Ancient Roman series featuring Claudia, a killer stalks the streets of Rome. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Davis and Steven Saylor.


‘An engrossing and informative read’ – Publishers Weekly

September 314AD, and once more death strikes the sprawling streets of Imperial Rome. When two prostitutes are found murdered – their bodies ripped open and their right eyes gouged out – it is feared a notorious killer, the Nefandus, has returned. Rumoured to be an imperial officer, he once waged bloody murder amongst Rome’s prostitutes but vanished before his identity could be discovered. Has he reappeared, or is someone working in his guise? Desperate to retain order, the Empress Helena turns to her most trusted agent, Claudia. Helena commands her to discover the truth behind the Nefandus, before Rome descends further into chaos and confusion.

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
‘Paul Doherty’s books are a joy to read
The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty’s] books’
‘A great read – I recommend to anyone who loves a good mystery

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: An engrossing and informative read
Publishers Weekly
The master of historical whodunit
Booklist
Paul Doherty weaves an intricate story with clues littered among the pages
Historical Novels Review
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history
New Statesman
A masterpiece of murder and mystery
Northern Echo