Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Nightshade (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 16)

Nightshade (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 16)

Can Hugh Corbett restore peace before further blood is shed?

In Nightshade, the fascinating sixteenth novel in the Hugh Corbett series, Corbett must travel to Essex in search of stolen treasure. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Robin Hobb.


January 1304 and Hugh Corbett, devoted emissary of King Edward I, has been charged with yet another dangerous mission. Scrope, an unscrupulous manor lord, has reneged on his promise to hand over a priceless ornate cross he stole from the Templars during the Crusades. Furthermore, he has massacred as heretics fourteen members of a religious order, whose corpses now hang in the woods near Mistleham in Essex. The King, determined to restore order sends Corbett to Mistleham in his stead. But as Corbett reaches the troubled village, it becomes obvious that the situation has worsened. A mysterious bowman has appeared, killing townspeople at random. Is one of the Brethren responsible, or have the Templars arrived to wreak revenge? Can Corbett restore Mistleham to peace, and return the treasure to the King, before further blood is shed?

What readers are saying about Nightshade:
‘A gripping mystery, another page turner of the first order’
‘Not only is the medieval age recreated, but a gripping story is told. Doherty is just superb here’
‘An entirely entertaining and engrossing story’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 30th October 2012

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9780755370344

Reviews

For those who are keen enthusiasts of medieval murder stories the name Paul Doherty will need no introduction... He writes with enthusiasm about an era he knows well
SHOTS Magazine
The best of its kind since the death of Ellis Peters
Time Out
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history... evocative and lyrical descriptions
New Statesman
Paul Doherty has come up trumps again with this medieval mystery
Newcastle Evening Chronicle
Vitality in the cityscape... angst in the mystery; it's Peters minus the herbs but plus a few crates of sack
Oxford Times
Praise for Paul Doherty: The maestro of medieval mystery... As with all Doherty's historical whodunnits, it is packed with salty dialogue, the smells and superstitions of the 14th century, not to mention the political intrigues
Books Magazine
Doherty's deep understanding of the period and the nitty-gritty of historical detail are to the fore without intruding on the rhythm of the plot. Superb entertainment
Historical Novels Review
A masterpiece of murder and mystery
Northern Echo
Medieval London comes vividly to life
Publishers Weekly
As always the author invokes the medieval period in all its muck as well as glory, filling the pages with pungent smells and description. The author brings years of research to his writing; his mastery of the period as well as a disciplined writing schedule have led to a rapidly increasing body of work and a growing reputation
Mystery News